Home > Areas Served – Criminal Defense Help in Northern Kentucky and Ohio > Covington Criminal Defense Attorney
Covington Criminal Defense Attorney
It takes very little to gain the unwanted attention of the Covington police. Maybe you seemed out of place in a neighborhood or because of the time of day. An officer might believe you glanced around too much as if you were afraid of being caught doing something wrong. You could also be targeted because you fit the description of someone else who committed crimes in Kenton County. Even if you have never committed a crime in your life and were simply in the wrong place at the wrong time, you may now face serious charges.
If you find yourself the focus of a police investigation or have been charged with a crime in Kentucky, call the Covington criminal defense attorneys at Luftman, Heck & Associates at (513) 338-1890 to schedule a free confidential consultation. An experienced attorney can fight to win the best possible outcome for your case. Do not wait to call.
Traffic Violations in Covington
You might think a traffic ticket is not a big deal, but the consequences of a single traffic offense can be harsh and include fines, probation, and points on your license. If you are currently facing a felony traffic-related charge or any traffic violation with a less-than-pristine driving record, you are even more likely to experience severe penalties.
Common traffic violations in Covington include:
- Driving without a license
- Driver with a suspended license
- Reckless driving
- Street Racing
- Vehicular assault
- Aggravated vehicular assault
- Hit and runs
A misdemeanor conviction can lead to up to 6 months in jail, a license suspension and fines and fees. You may also be sentenced to probation and community service instead of jail time. A felony traffic conviction is punishable by a longer jail sentence, higher fees, and longer driver’s license suspensions. Once you are able to drive again, you will have to pay much higher auto insurance premiums.
Your First Kentucky DWI/DUI
If you are pulled over in Kenton County for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, including prescription medications, you will be charged with a DWI/DUI. Prosecutors will have a strong case against you if you blow at least a 0.08 percent blood alcohol content level or if a blood or urine test reveals a controlled substance in your system. However, you can also be charged and convicted of a DWI/DUI if you are visibly impaired.
A first DWI/DUI conviction can lead to:
- 2 to 30 days in jail
- $200 to $500 fine
- 90 days of an alcohol or substance abuse program
- 30 to 120-day driver’s license suspension
- 48 hours – 30 days of community service
A Second DWI/DUI Offense
The potential penalties for an initial DWI/DUI are already harsh. However, if you are found to have committed a second DWI/DUI within 10 years of your first conviction, you will be sentenced to even tougher consequences. You will certainly lose your license for a period of time.
A second DWI/DUI conviction can lead to:
- 7 days to 6 months in jail
- $350 to $500 fine
- 1 years of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
- 12 to 18-month license suspension
- 10 days to 6 months of community service
Underage DUI in Kentucky
If you are under the legal drinking age and the police suspect any amount of drug or alcohol use, they will arrest you. As a driver under the age of 21, you can be charged and convicted of an underage DWI/DUI if the police find you have a BAC at 0.02 percent or higher, have a controlled substance in your system, or you are impaired due to using prescription medications or other substances.
If convicted of a DWI/DUI, you can expect to spend a few days in jail, lose your license for a period of time, pay a fine, be required to attend alcohol and drug education classes and may need to complete community service. The differences between a first DWI/DUI for someone over 21 compared to your DWI/DUI conviction is that you may have slightly less harsh penalties and the alcohol or drug education classes differ.
However, if you are found to have a BAC at or above 0.08 percent as an underage driver, prosecutors may push to try you as an adult. No matter your age, you may have to go through the normal Kenton County court system and suffer difficult and longer punishments.
A Kentucky Hardship License May be Possible
Losing your license because of a DWI/DUI can make it extremely difficult to take care of yourself or family. If you live in an area without public transportation, it may be impossible to get to school or work. Relying on friends and family for rides may not be an option. If the loss of your driving privileges creates a substantial hardship, your attorney can apply for you to have a Kentucky hardship license. A judge may grant you limited driving privileges to go to school, work, medical appointments, alcohol and substance abuse treatment and other court-ordered appointments.
Why Hire a Covington Criminal Defense Lawyer?
When you have been charged with a crime, you have the right to be assigned a public defender. While you will receive a basic defense, your defender is unlikely to have a great deal of time to devote to investigating your case and building a strong custom defense. You have a better chance of an acquittal or minimizing the consequences of conviction by working with Brad Groene, an experienced Kenton County attorney.
Contact Covington Criminal Defense Attorney Brad Groene
If you are being investigated for a crime or have been charged with an offense, call the Cincinnati criminal defense lawyers of Luftman, Heck & Associates at (513) 338-1890 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Brad Groene is available to answer your questions 24/7.