Reckless driving / operation is a commonly occurring traffic violation in Ohio. Everyday, there are hundreds of individuals who are pulled over for this charge on Ohio roadways. Reckless driving / operation occurs when anyone operates a motor vehicle in a manner purposefully or intentionally causes harm or danger to other drivers or property. A reckless driving / operation conviction carries serious consequences such as jail time and fines, in addition to points on your driver’s license. Additional reckless driving convictions carry more several penalties and consequences and may result in your driver’s license being suspended or revoked
Reckless driving or operation is also known under the Ohio Revised Code (ORC 4511.20) as Operation in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property. This offense is defined as anyone who operates a motor vehicle, trackless trolley, or streetcar on any street, road or highway in a purposeful and intentional manner that is harmful or destructive of the well being of other individuals or property.
The following are examples of reckless driving / operation:
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Neglecting to yield to emergency vehicles
- Swerving, disregarding traffic signs or other aggressive driving
- Excessive speeding
Penalties for Reckless Driving / Operation
If you are facing your first conviction of reckless driving / operation in Ohio, you will be charged with a minor misdemeanor. This entails a maximum of $150 in fines.
If you are convicted for reckless driving under the City of Cincinnati Municipal Code Sec. 506-6, you will be charged with a 4th degree misdemeanor. This charge applies to all first time offenders under the City of Cincinnati Municipal Code. You will face a maximum of 30 days in jail and fines up to $250.
If within the past year you have been convicted or plead guilty to a previous vehicle or traffic offenses, you will be charged with a fourth degree misdemeanor. This entails a maximum of 30 days in jail and fines up to $250.
If within the past year you have been convicted of two or more previous vehicle or traffic offenses, you will be charged with a third degree misdemeanor. This entails a maximum of 60 days in jail and fines up to $500.
In addition to jail time and fines, a reckless driving / operation conviction also entails accumulating four points on your Ohio driving record. If you accumulate 12 or more points on your driving record, your driver’s license will be suspended.
If you are facing reckless driving / operation charges, it is imperative that you immediately contact the Ohio reckless driving attorneys from LHA today. A reckless driving / operation charge can be a nerve-wracking and overwhelming experience, and you do not have to go through it alone. Although every case is different, it is crucial that you obtain an experienced, knowledgeable and compassionate attorney as soon as possible who will fight vigorously for your legal rights and best interest. The sooner you speak with an attorney, the better your options will be regarding your sentence. The Cincinnati Criminal Defense team has successfully defended hundreds of individuals charged with reckless driving / operation. Their knowledge, experience and compassion for your case will help you receive the justice you deserve.