If you fail to stop after an accident and do not provide your information, you will be charged with a hit and run offense. These offenses are not punished lightly in Ohio, often requiring legal defense from a qualified Cincinnati hit and run attorney. Depending on the severity of the facts and circumstances involved, a hit and run conviction could result in stiff, unforgiving penalties such as extensive prison time and hefty fines and fees.
Hit and run incidents are prohibited under the Ohio Revised Code law of Stopping After Accident on Public Roads or Highways (ORC 4549.02). This law states that anyone operating a motor vehicle is required to immediately stop after an accident on any public road or highway if they had knowledge or awareness that the accident occurred. Drivers must stay at the site of the accident until they have given their contact information to all other drivers involved, the police and anyone who was injured as a result.
The offender is obligated to remain at the site and notify the police of the accident if any of the injured parties are unable to write or understand the offender’s information that they have provided. The exception to this is if the offender was also injured and was taken away for emergency medical attention.
If the offender is involved in a motor vehicle accident with an unoccupied or unattended vehicle, the offender is obligated to securely attach their information to a visible place on the unattended vehicle.
Anyone involved in any kind of motor vehicle accident in Ohio is required to provide all other parties involved and the police with their name, address, phone number, the vehicle registration number, or the name and address of the vehicle owner.
Penalties for Hit and Run Offenses
Ohio hit and run penalty breakdown
- Typically a first degree misdemeanor with 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines
- The accident results in serious harm to another person
fifth degree felony with at least 6 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines
- The accident results in the death of another person
third degree felony with at least 9 months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines
If you are convicted of a hit and run offense in Ohio, the penalties that you might face are dependant on the severity of the facts and circumstances of your case. If someone was injured or died, this will undoubtedly result in more harsh penalties.
If you are convicted for a hit and run offense or failing to stop after an accident in Ohio, you will be charged with a first degree misdemeanor. This entails up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
If you are convicted for a hit and run offense or failing to stop after an accident and the accident results in serious physical harm to another person, you will be charged with a fifth degree felony. This entails at least six months and up to a year in jail and fines up to $2,500.
If you are convicted for a hit and run offense or failing to stop after an accident and the accident results in the death of another person, you will be charged with a third degree felony. This entails at least nine months and up to three years in prison and fines up to $10,000
Anyone who has failed to stop after an accident in Ohio will also receive a class five suspension of the driver’s license. This suspension can last a minimum of 6 months and up to a maximum of three years.
A hit and run offense will also result in the accumulation of 6 points on your driver’s license.
If you are facing hit and run charges, it is imperative that you immediately contact the Cincinnati Criminal Defense Attorneys. A hit and run charge can be a frightening and overwhelming experience, and you do not have to go through it alone. Although every case is different, it is crucial that you obtain an experienced, knowledgeable and compassionate attorney as soon as possible who will fight vigorously for your legal rights and best interest. The sooner you speak with an attorney, the better your options will be regarding your sentence. The Cincinnati Criminal Defense team has successfully defended hundreds of individuals charged with hit and run offenses Their knowledge, experience and compassion for your case will help you receive the justice you deserve.