Home > Sex Crime Lawyer in Cincinnati, Ohio > Ohio Sex Offender Registration
Ohio Sex Offender Registration
If you are facing a sex crime charge in Ohio, you must understand the potential consequences of a conviction. Most sex crimes, even minor offenses, will require you to register as a sex offender if you are convicted. Sex offender registration means your personal information and criminal history will be on display for everyone to see. It can cast you as a pariah within your community and make it extremely difficult to find a job and place to live.
Ohio sex offender registration should be avoided and the best way to do that is to work with a skilled and experienced Cincinnati sex crimes lawyer like Brad Groene of Luftman, Heck & Associates. We understand the difficult future you face if you must register as a sex offender, which is why we provide an aggressive defense against all types of sex charges.
Call us today at (513) 338-1890 to find out how we can help.
Offenses That Require Registration in Ohio
Ohio has three tiers of offenses that require sex offender registration. Tier I is the lowest level of sexual offense while Tier III is the highest, including the most serious sex offenses. Each tier requires a different duration of registration and interval for renewing registration. If you are not sure which level of sexual offense you face, ask a Cincinnati sex crimes lawyer right away.
Tier I Offenses
- 2903.211(A)(3) Menacing by stalking with sexual motivation
- 2905.03(B) Unlawful restraint with sexual motivation
- 2905.05(B) Child enticement with sexual motivation
- 2907.04 Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor
- 2907.05(A) Gross sexual imposition
- 2907.06 Sexual Imposition
- 2907.7 Importuning
- 2907.08 Voyeurism
- 2907.32 Pandering obscenity
- 2907.323(A)(3) Illegal use of a minor in nudity-oriented material or performance
Tier II Offenses
- 2905.01(A)(1)-(3), (5) Kidnapping with sexual motivation
- 2905.01(A)(4) Kidnapping victim over 18
- 2905.02(B) Abduction with sexual motivation
- 2907.04 Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor, when the offender is at least 4 years older or when the offender is less than 4 years older and has a previous conviction.
- 2907.05(A)(4) Gross sexual imposition of a victim under 13 years old
- 2907.21 Compelling prostitution
- 2907.321 Pandering obscenity involving a minor
- 2907.322 Pandering sexual oriented material involving a minor
- 2907.3232(A) Illegal use of a minor in nudity-oriented material or performance
- 2919.22(B)(5) Child endangering
Tier III Offenses
- 2903.01 Aggravated murder with sexual motivation
- 2903.02 Murder with sexual motivation
- 2903(11) Felonious assault with sexual motivation
- 2904.04(A) Unlawful death or termination of pregnancy as a result of committing or attempting to commit a felony with sexual motivation
- 2905.01(A)(4) Kidnapping of a minor to engage in sexual activity
- 2905.01(B) Kidnapping a minor, not by a parent
- 2907.02 Rape
- 2907.03 Sexual battery
- 2907.05(B) Gross sexual imposition
Ohio Registration Requirements
If you are convicted or pleaded guilty to an offense that requires registration in Ohio, you must register in person at the sheriff’s office of the county in which you will live within three days of your arriving there. This is usually after your incarceration has ended. You will be required to provide your name, home address, work, school or volunteering information, phone number, email address, social media profiles, vehicle registration, and more. If you move to, visit for more than five days, work in, or go to school in a different county, you will need to personally register with the sheriff of that county as well.
Once registered, your personal information, photo, and criminal history will be available for the public to see online. You will not be able to have any of this information removed until you complete the duration of your registration. If you are required to register for life, you must comply with all aspects of registration forever.
It is crucial you register in the appropriate counties and with the right law enforcement agency. Work with an experienced Cincinnati sex crimes lawyer to ensure you do not break the law by accidentally registering incorrectly or failing to register.
Registration Duration and Renewal Requirements
Each tier requires offenders to register for a certain period of time and reregister with local authorities at a certain interval.
- Tier I: If convicted of a Tier I offense, you must register every year for 15 years. You are not required to provide community or neighborhood notification.
- Tier II: If convicted of a Tier II offense, you must register as a sex offender for 25 years, renewing your registration every six months. You are not subject to community or neighborhood notification.
- Tier III: If you are convicted of a Tier III offense, the highest level of sexual offenses, you must register as a sex offender for life and renew your registration every 90 days. You will be required to provide community and neighborhood notification, which means informing all residents within 1,000 feet or your residence that you are a convicted sex offender. The state will also mail out a public notification to all residences within 1,250 feet of your home.
Avoid Sex Offender Registration by Working With a Defense Attorney
You have the greatest chance of avoiding having to register as a sex offender by working with a criminal defense attorney who has handled sex offense cases. Brad Groene has years of experience representing individuals throughout the greater Cincinnati metropolitan area. He understands that your rights and freedom are at stake, which is why he offers you attentive and assertive representation.
By working with the legal team at Luftman, Heck & Associates, you have the collective knowledge and resources of a group that has achieved hundreds of successful cases. We will review your situation, analyze the evidence against you, and build you the strongest defense available. We can guide you through the criminal court process and help you make decisions based on what is best for your future.
Are You Facing a Sex Crime Charge? Call us today.
Being charged with a sex offense that would require you to register as a sex offender is frightening. You may rightfully worry about how you will be able to live your life with a label hanging over your head. To begin developing a defense strategy, contact the Cincinnati sex crimes lawyers of Luftman, Heck & Associates at (513) 338-1890, through our live chat feature, or email us at email@example.com.