Home > Areas Served – Criminal Defense Help in Northern Kentucky and Ohio > Warren County Criminal Defense Lawyer – Ohio > Lebanon Criminal Defense Attorney
Lebanon Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been arrested in Lebanon, Ohio, the best way to protect yourself is to call a Cincinnati criminal defense lawyer of Luftman, Heck & Associates. Facing criminal charges is intimidating and you may not understand your rights well enough to avoid being taken advantage of by the police or prosecutors. Often times the police will lie to you to get you to say something incriminating and prosecutors will make it sound like they have a stronger case against you than they really have. The criminal justice system can seem rigged against you if you do not have an attorney to guide your way.
By hiring a criminal lawyer, you have someone who not only understands the law but has relationships with prosecutors and judges throughout Warren County. A Lebanon criminal defense attorney as experienced as Brad Groene can review your case and give you an objective opinion on what you can expect from the trial process and punishments you may face. No matter your situation, Brad will build you the strongest defense possible under the law.
A First DUI/OVI
If you are arrested for operating a vehicle while intoxicated, whether from alcohol or a controlled substance in your system, you face inconvenient and difficult punishments. If you are charged with a DUI/OVI for having a blood alcohol content level between 0.08 percent and 0.17 percent, then you will spend at least 3 days and possibly up to 6 months in jail. In addition to jail time, you will have to pay a fine, court costs and administrative fees. You can be required to attend a driving intervention program and if you do not lose your license for a period of time, you will likely have to pay to install an ignition interlock device and yellow restricted license plates on your car.
If your first DUI/OVI is a result of a high BAC, which means above 0.17 percent, then you spend at least 6 days in jail as well as pay your fines and fees. You must take a 3-day driving intervention program and will have a minimum 6-month license suspension. However, after a period of time for a hard suspension, you may be able to gain limited driving privileges for work, school, and medical treatment.
A DUI/OVI is often a misunderstanding with the police or a one-time mistake. Neither of these reasons should cause you to fall behind in school or work. By hiring an experienced attorney, you will be better equipped to minimize the consequences of a conviction.
You can be charged with a theft crime if law enforcement believes you have somehow taken or appropriated another person’s money or property. This includes shoplifting, forgery, fraud and writing back checks. Depending on the exact circumstances of your arrest and the value of property you are accused of stealing, you may face a misdemeanor or a felony. For example, shoplifting a small item worth less than $100 is a first-degree misdemeanor. However, if you allegedly stole money or property worth more than $1,000, you will face a felony.
You can also be charged with a crime if the police suspect you were part of a theft crime. Complicity is defined in Ohio as recruiting someone to commit the crime, helping someone commit theft, conspiring with another person to carry out the offense, or causing an innocent person to steal. You do not have to be a direct part of the theft. You can help someone by being a lookout or driving the getaway car. If you were involved in some way, you will be charged with the same level of offense as the person who stole the money or property and face the same punishment.
Assault in Ohio
Assault is a serious charge; however, it often arises from situations that did not start out so seriously. Maybe you were in an argument with a friend or ended up in a shoving match with someone at the bar. You likely had no intention of becoming part of a violent situation or facing a criminal charge for a violent offense. Unfortunately, situations can quickly get out of hand, leaving you needing a Lebanon criminal defense attorney to fight against assault charges.
A first-time charge of assault is usually a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail or probation and up to a $1,000 fine. However, if the assault took place against a law enforcement officer, teacher, or school administrator then you face a felony with a possibility of a longer time in jail and much higher fines.
Robbery is a criminal mixture of assault and theft. Under Ohio law, robbery consists of when you take another person’s property against their will or directly from their possession through the use of force or fear. Robbery may take place with a weapon, such as a gun or a knife, or you may incite fear into an individual without a weapon but through the use of threats or physical violence.
If the police believe you committed a robbery, you will be charged with a robbery. A first-degree robbery charge is usually reserved for when the prosecution alleges you used a deadly weapon to commit the offense and is punishable by up to 8 years in prison and a $15,000 fine. However, if you allegedly only threatened another person to commit a robbery, you face a third-degree felony, which can result in up to 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Facing Criminal Charges in Lebanon? Contact LHA Today
Being charged with a crime is alarming, particularly if this is your first experience with Ohio’s criminal justice system. You should call Lebanon criminal defense attorney Brad Groene of Luftman, Heck & Associates at (513) 338-1890 to schedule a confidential consultation.