Home > Areas Served – Criminal Defense Help in Northern Kentucky and Ohio > Warren County Criminal Defense Lawyer – Ohio > Franklin Criminal Defense Attorney
Franklin Criminal Defense Attorney
You can become the focus of a police investigation within the blink of an eye. One day you are minding your own business, working and spending time with friends and family. The next day you are a suspect being questioned by the police. When your world is turned upside down and you fear you may lose your freedom due to false accusations or a one-time mistake, do not hesitate to seek out help from a Franklin criminal defense attorney at Luftman, Heck, and Associates. You have the right to an attorney at all times: during questioning, arraignment, and your trial.
Experienced criminal lawyer Brad Groene will protect your rights throughout the criminal justice process and fight for the best possible outcome to your case.
Assault in Franklin, Ohio
There is a wide range of circumstances in which you could be charged with assault. Under Ohio law, if you intentionally cause or try to cause physical harm or danger to another person or an unborn child, you have committed assault. You can also be found guilty of this crime if you recklessly cause serious physical harm or danger to another individual or an unborn child. The broad definition of assault means you can be charged if you acted purposefully or if you were simply rash in your decisions and actions. Also, assault does not necessarily require that the victim of your actions be physically hurt. Prosecutors can charge you with this crime if you put another person in danger of being hurt.
If you have been charged with assault, you should have a skilled attorney represent your interests. An assault can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. You are more likely to be sentenced to jail and pay higher fines if you are found guilty of a felony offense.
Ohio Domestic Violence Law
Domestic violence in Ohio is defined as assaulting a family member or someone who lives in the same house as you or threatening to hurt someone in your family or household. You can be accused of domestic violence if you hurt, attempt to hurt, or threaten your spouse, boyfriend or girlfriend, children, siblings, grandparents, roommates, and anyone else in your family or home.
If you intentionally caused or tried to cause a family or household member harm, then you will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. You can be sentenced to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines. If you purposefully caused your family or household member to believe you were going to hurt them, then you will face a fourth-degree misdemeanor. You may spend up to 30 days in jail and pay a $250 fine.
It is possible that this offense is not your first because of previous misunderstandings or mistakes. If you are currently facing a second or subsequent domestic violence charge, then upon conviction, you can be sentenced to up to 18 months in jail and a fine of $5,000.
Manslaughter and Homicide in Warren County
A conviction for a violent crime such as manslaughter or homicide will change your life forever. You should work with an experienced attorney who will vigorously defend you in court. Voluntary manslaughter is when law enforcement believes you knowingly caused the death of another person or unborn child while in a fit of rage or sudden passion due to serious provocation by the victim. If prosecutors have charged you with voluntary manslaughter, you face a first-degree felony, punishable by at least 3 years and up to 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine. You can be charged with involuntary manslaughter if the police believe you caused the death of another person or unborn child while attempting to commit or committing a misdemeanor or felony. This is a third-degree felony if the death results from a misdemeanor offense or a first-degree felony if the death resulted from a felony. You face up to 5 years or up to 10 years, respectively.
Manslaughter crimes differ from reckless or negligent homicide. If your careless behavior causes the death of another person and an individual’s unborn, you will be charged with a third-degree felony. If your negligent behavior leads to someone’s death, then you face a first-degree misdemeanor.
Vehicular Manslaughter or Homicide
Car accidents are unfortunately common, and sometimes individuals pass away in these collisions. In many cases, the crashes are simply accidents. However, if the police believe your behavior as a driver in the accident arose to a crime, you may face a criminal charge for the death of another driver or passenger. Ohio law defines vehicular manslaughter as the death of another person or unborn child on the road as a result of a misdemeanor traffic violation or an equivalent municipal ordinance. You can be charged with vehicle manslaughter if the police find you were intoxicated while behind the wheel and caused an accident that led to another person’s death.
You may also face vehicle homicide charges if law enforcement believes there is evidence that you caused another person’s death while negligently operating a vehicle or speeding in a construction zone. Both of these crimes are typically charged as a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. However, mitigating circumstances can lead prosecutors to charge you with a higher offense and you may face significantly longer jail time and higher fines.
Why Select a Franklin Criminal Defense Lawyer
Neither misdemeanor nor felony criminal charges are a laughing matter. If you are at the center of a criminal investigation or have been charged with a crime, you need to begin working with a Franklin criminal defense lawyer right away. An attorney like Brad Groene who understands the Ohio criminal justice system and knows the prosecutors and judges in Warren County can give you an advantage in court – something you will need to prove your innocence or minimize the consequences of conviction.
Call Franklin Criminal Defense Lawyer Brad Groene Today
If you have been accused of a crime or booked on criminal charges, call the Franklin criminal defense team of Luftman, Heck, and Associates at (513) 338-1890. Brad Groene is here to answer your questions 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.