Home > Areas Served – Criminal Defense Help in Northern Kentucky and Ohio > Butler County Criminal Defense Lawyer – Ohio > Oxford Criminal Defense Attorney
Oxford Criminal Defense Attorney
Oxford, Ohio, is home to Miami University. While it is consistently ranked as one of the best college towns in the U.S., it is not immune to its troubles. With a population of more than 21,000 individuals and the addition of many students every year, Oxford residents witness their fair share of property crimes, thefts, DUIs and traffic violations. If you are an Oxford resident year-round or during the school year and you have been charged with a crime, you should call an Oxford criminal defense attorney with Luftman, Heck, and Associates to defend you. We know the intricacies of Butler County’s court system and are ready to take on your case, no matter the charges or how this situation arose.
Ohio Alcohol Crimes
Wine, beer, and liquors are best enjoyed in moderation by people over the age of 21. When underage individuals obtain or drink alcohol, it is not only potentially dangerous but illegal. Additionally, other alcohol-related actions, like selling to minors or open containers in public, are unlawful and can lead to criminal charges. As an Oxford resident or Miami University student, you should be aware of Ohio’s alcohol crimes, including:
- Open Container Laws: It is unlawful to have an open container in public or in a vehicle unless you fall under a specific exclusion, such as being at a convention center that has a license to serve alcohol or if you are in the back of a limo. If you are found to have an open container of alcohol, you can be convicted of a fourth-degree misdemeanor and sentenced to pay a $250 fine and spend up to 30 days in jail.
- Disorderly Conduct While Intoxicated: If you are found intoxicated in public and being offense or creating a dangerous situation, you can be charged with a minor misdemeanor and forced to pay a $150 fine. However, if circumstances warrant a higher charge, you may be convicted of a fourth-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine.
- Selling Alcohol to Minors: If you are caught selling or providing alcohol to minors or enabling minors to imbibe alcohol, you can be convicted of a first-degree misdemeanor. You may be sentenced to up to 6 months in prison and a $1,000 fine.
- Underage Alcohol Offenses: If you are under the age of 21 and you knowingly possess, order, pay for, try to buy, or consume any alcohol in public or private, you can be convicted of an offense. If this is your first underage drinking offense, you may be eligible to go through a diversion program. Upon completing this program, the charges are dropped and the records sealed. You will not end up with a criminal record. However, if you are not eligible for a diversion program or you do not complete it, you can be convicted of a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail or $1,000 fines.
Ohio DUI Law
Under Ohio law, you can be charged with operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI/OVI) if you are found to have a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher or to be impaired due to prescription medications, controlled substances, or a combination of drugs and alcohol. While a BAC above the legal limit will surely result in a DUI/OVI charge, you can also face this offense in court without having any alcohol in your system.
A first DUI/OVI conviction for a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.17 percent is a first-degree misdemeanor. You will spend at least 3 days in jail and pay at least $375 in fines. However, you can also be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail. You will have your license suspended for a period of time and you will likely have to complete a driving intervention program. If you are able to retain your driver’s license or limited driving privileges, you may have to pay to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
If you are found to have a high BAC, above 0.17 percent, you face harsher consequences even for your first DUI/OVI offense. Upon conviction, you must spend at least 6 days but up to 6 months in jail and can be fined up to $1,075. You will be required to participate in the driving intervention program and will lose your license for a minimum of 6 months and up to 3 years. You may also have to go through an alcohol assessment, treatment program, or educational program.
Defending Against a DUI
No matter the circumstances that led to your DUI/OVI charge, there is a DUI defense available to you. Your attorney will review your situation to determine the strongest defenses possible under the law. These options may include questioning:
- The initial traffic stop
- Whether the police followed proper procedure
- The results of a roadside breath test
- Whether any field sobriety test was properly given and graded
- The results of an evidential breath test
- The results of another chemical test, such as a blood or urine test
If you have been arrested for a DUI/OVI, do not give up hope. Speak with Brad Groene as soon as possible to determine how to best defend yourself in court and how to minimize the consequences of a possible conviction.
Why Hire an Oxford Criminal Defense Attorney
If you are facing criminal charges as a resident of Butler County, you need a criminal defense attorney who understands this region and knows the local court system. Brad Groene has worked in the Cincinnati area for years, defending people in Oxford and surrounding towns. Call Luftman, Heck, and Associates today to speak with our experienced legal team about your case and how to fight for the best possible outcome.
Call Oxford Criminal Defense Lawyer Brad Groene Today
Do not hesitate to acquire the legal representative and advise you deserve. If you are being investigated for a crime or are facing criminal charges, call Luftman, Heck, and Associates as soon as possible at (513) 338-1890. Oxford criminal defense lawyer Brad Groene is here to answer your questions 24/7.