Like most states, Ohio requires that motorists slow down and change lanes, if possible to do so safely, if there are vehicles stopped on the side of the road a motorist is traveling on. The law originally only applied to emergency vehicles and tow trucks. However, it was expanded in 2013 by the Ohio Legislature to also cover any vehicle with flashing lights (meaning that it now also covers construction vehicles with flashing lights).
This law is intended to protect police officers, construction workers, and tow truck operators, who are all likely to find themselves at the side of the road due to their jobs. Ohio’s Move Over Law contains fines for failing to move over and/or slow down if any of the listed types of vehicles are pulled over on the shoulder of a road and a motorist who fails to move over or slow down (if he or she is unable to change lanes) as required by the law can be ticketed, fined and in some cases even imprisoned for violating that law.
If you have been ticketed for violating Ohio’s Move Over Law, contact Brad Groene of Luftman, Heck & Associates to discuss your legal options related to your ticket for a violation of Ohio’s Move Over Law. Brad is an experienced traffic attorney who may be able to help you get your ticket dismissed and keep your insurance rates from going up and keep you from getting points on your license.
Consequences of Violating the Ohio Move Over Law
Ohio motorists who violate the state’s Move Over law can be ticketed by a police officer or may even be subject to imprisonment depending on their previous driving record. If a driver has a clean record over the past year but is pulled over for a violation of Ohio’s Move Over Law, the motorist will be assessed a $300 fine. However, if the motorist has been ticketed for either violating the Move Over Law or some other traffic law in the past year, then he or she has committed a fourth-degree misdemeanor. The penalties for a fourth-degree misdemeanor are a $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail. If the motorist has been ticketed twice or more in the past year for violating any traffic laws, then a ticket for violating the Move Over Law is a third-degree misdemeanor, which comes with it a $1,000 dollar fine and up to 60 days in jail.
Even if You Have a Clean Driving Record, a Ticket Can Have Other Consequences
Although simply receiving a ticket may not necessarily seem like a big deal, and even if you have a clean driving record other than your ticket for violating Ohio’s Move Over Law, getting such a ticket can have consequences other than just the payment of a monetary fine. Indeed, your automobile insurer may or may not check your driving record each time your policy is up for renewal and a ticket could result in a rise (often substantial) in your automobile. Your policy could even be canceled, which is why it is important that you consider hiring an attorney and fighting any ticket you may receive for violating Ohio’s Move Over Law.
If You Received a Ticket, Contact Luftman, Heck & Associates
If you have been ticketed for violating Ohio’s Move Over Law or any other traffic regulation, and are in need of a traffic lawyer in the greater Cincinnati area, contact attorney Brad Groene of Luftman, Heck & Associates at (513) 338-1890 at any time to speak with an experienced attorney regarding your situation.