Having a DUI on your record can make life difficult. And it could affect your ability to earn a living. This is particularly true if you want to work as a commercial driver.
There are many requirements to fulfill, but it is possible to have a commercial driver’s license after a DUI. However, preventing a DUI conviction from the start will make it a lot easier to move forward with your career.
If you get arrested for DUI or OVI in Ohio, an experienced lawyer can help you stay out of jail, clear your name, and move on. If you already have a DUI on your record, a skilled Cincinnati DUI lawyer from Luftman, Heck & Associates can help you receive or reinstate your CDL.
Call us today at (513) 338-1890 to set up a free consult.
How To Get A CDL After A DUI
To receive a CDL, you must meet the state’s requirement of skills and training for all commercial drivers. You cannot get a CDL if your regular driver’s license is suspended from a DUI. But you can technically receive a CDL after your license is reinstated. If you want a CDL after a prior DUI, your lawyer can help you understand what to expect, including:
- A requirement to have more expensive insurance coverage.
- You may still have a hard time getting hired with a DUI on a background check, despite having a CDL.
CDL Resintatement after a DUI
Once you have a CDL, the state expects you to be a safe and law-abiding driver. Therefore, a DUI puts you at risk of losing your commercial driver’s license.
A CDL can be suspended for various violations, like:
- Having a blood alcohol level over .04 % will result in an automatic disqualification, and having any positive reading below .04 % will put you out of service for a mandatory 24 hours.
- Being convicted of a felony due to an incident where you were driving your commercial vehicle and had alcohol or drugs in your system will result in a lifetime ban from holding a CDL.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Refusing to submit to an alcohol test. Ohio’s implied consent law requires you to take these tests when requested by an officer, or you will have an automatic one-year suspension, even if you are not convicted of DUI.
- Having your license revoked for a moving offense in your personal vehicle.
Reinstating your CDL after a DUI requires an application with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Your fee will be at least $475, and you will have to show that you have secured a high-risk insurance policy known as an SR-22. This may also require a large down payment.
While you seek to reinstate your CDL, you may be allowed to drive for non-commercial purposes, such as getting to school or to another non-driving form of employment.
We Can Help You Get A CDL Even After A DUI
A skilled Cincinnati DUI attorney, like Brade Groene can protect your livelihood by helping you avoid a DUI conviction altogether. We can also assist with reinstating a CDL if a DUI is already on your record.
To speak with a Cincinnati DUI attorney about your situation, call Luftman, Heck & Associates today. Contact us at (513) 338-1890 to schedule a free consultation.