Go to Top

Call or text me at

Underage DUI in Ohio (OVUAC)

Are you facing underage DUI in Ohio? Every day in Ohio, there many people under the age of 21 who are charged with underage OVI / OVAC. Underage OVI / OVUAC is a serious alcohol-related criminal offense. Underage OVI / OVUAC charges can be a scary and overwhelming experience as your freedoms, privileges and reputation is at stake. The Ohio court system is not lenient on underage OVI / OVUAC offenses. An underage OVI / OVUAC conviction will result in severe penalties and consequences and your life will become very difficult as a result.

If you are under the age of 21 in Ohio, you are prohibited from consuming alcohol unless it is under certain conditions . The legal limit and breath test for anyone that is under 21 is .02 % BAC. If you are pulled over for suspected drunk driving and asked to submit to a breath, blood or urine test and are over .02 % BAC then you will be charged with underage OVI / OVUAC.

Underage OVI / OVUAC is defined according to the Ohio Revised Code (ORC 4511.19) as anyone who is under the age of 21 should not operate a vehicle, if at the time, any of the following conditions are applicable:

  • There is a concentration between .02 % and .08 % of alcohol in the person’s blood;
  • There is a concentration between .03% and .0096% of alcohol in the person’s blood serum or plasma.
  • There is a concentration between .02 grams and .08 grams of alcohol in the person’s breath.
  • There is a concentration between .0028 grams and .11 grams of alcohol in the person’s urine.

If you are facing an underage OVI / DUI charge in Ohio, it is critical that you consult with an attorney as soon as possible. Ohio has a strict stance on underage OVI / DUI charges, so it is vitally important that you receive proper legal counsel as soon as possible. Regardless of what happened in your case, it is understandable that you are probably scared and overwhelmed. You do not have to go through this experience alone. The Cincinnati criminal defense attorneys are here to provide their knowledge, skill, and highly effective legal counsel to help you deal with charges that you are currently facing. The sooner you consult with a Cincinnati Criminal Defense Attorney, the better, as they will work diligently to achieve the most favorable outcome for your case. This could mean the difference between serving less jail time to a complete dismissal of charges altogether.

Underage DUI Penalties

An underage DUI in Ohio is a serious criminal offense with harsh penalties if convicted. The Ohio court system is not lenient or forgiving of underage alcohol-related offenses.

If you are facing an underage OVI / OVUAC offense in Ohio, then you will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. This charge entails serving up to a maximum of 30 days in jail, and paying fines up to $250. You will also face a driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 90 days, in which you will not be able to obtain any driving privileges for the first 60 days. At most, your driver’s license will be suspended for up to two years. Additional penalties include yellow restrictive license plates, alcohol treatment, probation, retaking both written and driving exams for your license, completing a remedial 8-hour driving class, and maintaining an SR 22 insurance bond on file with the Ohio BMV.

Other Consequences of Underage DUI in Ohio

Underage OVI / OVUAC offenses in Ohio involve extremely harsh consequences in addition to possible jail time and expensive fines and fees.

An underage OVI / OVUAC conviction in Ohio will, unfortunately, have a negative impact on all other areas of your life. You may also face increased vehicle insurance rates, difficulty keeping or finding a job, and furthering your education. You may face your family and friends’ disapproval or their concern that you have a drinking problem. Your life will undoubtedly be difficult and be very different from before the offense occurred.

Underage DUI offenses are common throughout the state of Ohio. If you are facing an underage OVI / OVUAC charge, it is critical that you immediately contact the Cincinnati Criminal Defense Attorneys. Ohio has a strict stance on underage OVI / OVUAC, so it is important that you receive the proper legal counsel as soon as possible. An underage OVI / OVUAC charge can be an overwhelming and scary experience, and you do not have to go through it alone. Although every case is different, it is crucial that you obtain an experienced, knowledgeable and compassionate attorney as soon as possible who will fight vigorously for your legal rights and best interest. The sooner you speak with an attorney, the better your options will be regarding your sentence. The Cincinnati criminal defense team has successfully defended hundreds of individuals charged with underage OVI / OVUAC offenses. Their knowledge, experience, and compassion for your case will help you receive the justice you deserve.

Facing an Underage DUI in Ohio? Contact Cincinnati DUI Lawyers with LHA.

If you have been pulled over for an OVI, whether it’s your first time or a subsequent time, you’re likely stressed, angry, and worried about your future. The best thing to do is to call the experienced Cincinnati DUI lawyers with Luftman, Heck & Associates. In Cincinnati, attorney Brad Groene can walk you through your legal options and begin building a defense to reduce the penalties you face. Get the justice you deserve. Don’t hesitate to contact us today at or email us at advice@cincinnaticriminalattorney.com. We are available 24/7.
Cincinnati DUI Lawyer Brad Groene | Luftman, Heck & Associates